Breaking (?) News

Well–duh!

About Derek Olsen

I'm a layman within the Episcopal Church with a PhD in New Testament and an interest in most things medieval, monastic, and liturgical. My chief job is keeping up with my priestly wife and our two awesome kids. In addition to that, I earn a living, run the St Bede's Breviary, listen to loud goth/industrial music, and do some stuff for the church. I currently serve as Secretary to the Standing Commission on Liturgy and Music where I'm also co-chair of the Calendar committee and chair of the Digital Publications committee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breaking (?) News

  1. *Christopher says:

    Sounds familiar. I’ve finally trained C not to answer, but to listen to the message. If it’s a pastoral emergency he can then immediately call back. Personally, I hate being so easily contactible, and if I had my way, I wouldn’t have a cell phone at all. I can only imagine how this would be even more problematic with children…

  2. Annie says:

    I am reminded of how useful they can be as I am on my way to the store where I bought my cell phone in order to purchase a new charger because my dog chewed the connection off the end, when we decide to take a moment to get a cold drink at Sonic. I turned off my truck and then it wouldn’t start again. 364 days a year I have a cell phone with me. Not only that, but I parked too close to the menu and can’t open my own door. So, I send my somewhat irritated fourteen year old son to make a phone call to get help–and he didn’t tell his dad WHICH Sonic we were at. “Well, there are only three, Mom.” Later, his dad said, “It was the last one I thought of.”

    *sigh*

  3. Derek the Ænglican says:

    They are useful…but burdensome. The issue I find is that you have to negotiate not only your family’s sense of boundaries but everyone elses’s too. M is the anti-accessibility person in the house and largely I agree with her. Unfortunately…the rest of the world believes that a message sent is a message received. So now *if* I give people my number I tell them–I’ll get back to you, I just can’t promise when…

  4. Anastasia says:

    heh. i don’t have one. people always asking how I manage, or saying they couldn’t because of x or y reason (and, to me, the only really compelling reason I can think of is if you are in a profession where you need to be accessible in an emergency.) or they say, what if your car broke down?? I just say, people got by before they were invented, didn’t they? I do just fine. in fact, lots of things about not having one are really a lot better.

Leave a comment